With the beginning of the Glen Canyon Dam Project in 1957, the small town of Page sprung to life as a housing camp for workers building the dam. It sits at 4,300 feet above sea level on what is known as Manson Mesa and overlooks the present day Glen Canyon Dam. It rises just 600 feet above Lake Powell. The original 17 square mile site was acquired through an exchange with the Navajo Indian tribe. An additional 24 square mile tract of land was exchanged in 1958 and the small town known as "Government Camp" would lead the way for the birth of Page.
The town is named for former Bureau of Reclamation Commissioner John C. Page. It was not until March 1, 1975 when the town was officially incorporated. Today, the town of Page boasts a population of over 9,000 residents who live, work, and play in the area. Originally, homes and trailers were temporary residences along unpaved roads. As the town grew, more permanent residences appeared, as did a number of new churches. A section of its main road, Lake Powell Boulevard, is known as "church row" for its churches, spanning 12 denominations.